• Board of Directors


    • The Board of Directors for CGESD generally meets once per month on the third Wednesday.
    • Meetings begin at 7:00 p.m.
    • Meetings are held in the ESD Board Room (400 East Scenic Drive, Building 2, Floor 2, Room 2.221, The Dalles) or hosted by component districts within the boundaries of Hood River and Wasco Counties.
    • Meetings hosted by the component districts allows our Directors to visit those we serve.


    Paul Zastrow   Chair - Paul Zastrow    

    Paul represents Zone 7, Hood River County (voting precincts 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 12), where he was employed as a teacher for 29 years. He has been retired since 1998. His concerns regarding school funding lead him to join the board and have also taken him into state politics. To quote Paul, "When a state like Oregon has such a sound economy, it is a shame that we have not addressed school finance solutions or ensured that the children of Oregon have an adequate educational opportunity."   Term of Office: July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2021. 


    Zone 2 - Vacant, The Dalles

    This position represents residents in Wasco County voting precincts 1, 5, and 7 (within the North Wasco County School District #21 boundaries-Western The Dalles to the Hood River County border). Term of Office: July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2021.


    Stephanie Ritchie   Stephanie Ritchie, The Dalles

    Stephanie comes to the CGESD Board with 48 years of experience in education. She started as a classroom teacher then served as principal at St. Mary's in The Dalles for 27 years. Stephanie was a principal and district administrator in the Cascade School District for nine years. She then enjoyed five years as the School Improvement Director at CGESD and seven years as a leadership coach helping school principals improve student outcomes and navigate federal requirements. Serving on the CGESD Board will allow her to continue to work in the area of school and district improvement to support student learning. Stephanie represents Zone 1, located within the boundaries of North Wasco County School District #21. This zone represents Wasco County voting precincts 2, 3, and 6. Term of Office: July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2023.

     Suze Nigl, Hood River   Suze Nigl

    Suze was appointed to the Zone 5 position in September, 2007. This position represents Hood River County voting precincts 4, 6, 8, and 13. She is currently retired, but previously worked for the Hood River County School District for 28 years. She is very familiar with the schools and community in Hood River County. She is also a member of the Odell Lioness Club and the Hood River Valley Christian Church Board of Directors. Term of Office: July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2023.


    Karen Slusher   Karen Slusher, Dufur

    Karen desires to find and support solutions that will positively impact the lives of children and families in her local community. She volunteers at Dufur School, teaching business soft skills to high school students, and as a member of "The Friends of Dufur School."  She represents South Wasco County (voting precincts 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14).  Term of Office: July 2017, through June 30, 2021.

     Ian Stromquist, Hood River   Ian Stromquist

    Ianrepresents Zone 6 in Hood River County (voting precincts 1, 2, and 5). He was appointed to the Columbia Gorge ESD Board in July 2019.  Term of Office: July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2023.


    Susan Gabay  Vice-Chair Susan Gabay, Mosier

    Susan served as Columbia Gorge ESD's Advisory Board Member for employment and social services agencies since 2000. She continues to inform, update and advise board members regarding employment and social service issues on both the regional and state-wide levels. She was appointed to represent Zone 4 (an at-large position) in February 2012. Term of Office: July 1, 2017, through June 30, 2021.