Board of Directors

Next Regular Meeting is Scheduled for: Wednesday, September 15, 2021

View Board Meeting Agendas and Minutes.

View the CGESD Board Policies.

If you have any questions regarding Board meetings or governance, please email or call (541) 506-2240.

Designation of CGESD Duties and Authorities for the 2022 School Year.

Suze Nigl, Hood River

Chair - Suze Nigl, Hood River

Suze was appointed to the Zone 5 position in September, 2007. This position represents Hood River County voting precincts 4, 6, 8, and 13. She is currently retired, but previously worked for the Hood River County School District for 28 years. She is very familiar with the schools and community in Hood River County. She is also a member of the Odell Lioness Club and the Hood River Valley Christian Church Board of Directors. Term of Office: July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2023.

Chair - Paul Zastrow

Vice Chair - Paul Zastrow, Hood River

Paul represents Zone 7, Hood River County (voting precincts 3, 7, 9, 10, 11, and 12), where he was employed as a teacher for 29 years. He has been retired since 1998. His concerns regarding school funding lead him to join the board and have also taken him into state politics. To quote Paul, "When a state like Oregon has such a sound economy, it is a shame that we have not addressed school finance solutions or ensured that the children of Oregon have an adequate educational opportunity." Term of Office: July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2025.

Stephanie Ritchie, The Dalles

Stephanie Ritchie, The Dalles

Stephanie comes to the CGESD Board with 48 years of experience in education. She started as a classroom teacher then served as principal at St. Mary's in The Dalles for 27 years. Stephanie was a principal and district administrator in the Cascade School District for nine years. She then enjoyed five years as the School Improvement Director at CGESD and seven years as a leadership coach helping school principals improve student outcomes and navigate federal requirements. Serving on the CGESD Board will allow her to continue to work in the area of school and district improvement to support student learning. Stephanie represents Zone 1, located within the boundaries of North Wasco County School District #21. This zone represents Wasco County voting precincts 2, 3, and 6. Term of Office: July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2023.

Stacey Holeman Photo

Stacey Holeman, The Dalles

Stacey was a classroom teacher for 24 years - kindergarten through 5th grade in various combinations - then served as the director of a District 21 Structured Learning Center for students with Autism and Multiple Disabilities for 10 years before retiring in 2014.  She is a Distance Educator for Heritage Institute, offering credit for volunteer and language learning trips in Latin America, and the founder and director of Beca Project, a scholarship and social aid nonprofit based in a small town on Lake Atitlán in Guatemala.

Stacey represents Zone 2, which represents residents in Wasco County voting precincts 1, 5, and 7 (within the North Wasco County School District #21 boundaries-Western The Dalles to the Hood River County border). Term of Office: July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2025.

Tammarra Ferguson, South Wasco County

Tammarra, who also serves on the South Wasco County School District was first appointed to fill a vacancy for the balance of the 2021 year. She represents Zone 3 in South Wasco County (voting precincts 4, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13 and 14).  Term of Office: July 2021, through June 30, 2025.

Zone 4, At Large

Zone 4 (an at-large position) is currently vacant.

Term of Office: July 1, 2021, through June 30, 2025.

Ian Stromquist, Hood River

Ian Stromquist, Hood River

Ian represents Zone 6 in Hood River County (voting precincts 1, 2, and 5). He was appointed to the Columbia Gorge ESD Board in July 2019 and formally elected in May 2021.  Term of Office: July 1, 2019, through June 30, 2023.

Ian is a registered Environmental Health Specialist and holds a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Northern British Columbia.  He lives in Hood River with his two daughters who both attend public school in Hood River County.  Ian is currently employed by Hood River County.

 Ian has spent several years working in varied industries including local environmental public health, public health emergency preparedness, public needs assessment consulting, retail food, parks management, pool facilities, pesticide application, and high school education.  Ian has also served as President of the Oregon Environmental Health Association.

 In his spare time, Ian is often found enjoying the many exciting mountain biking trails and lovely cycling routes all over our region.