Region 3 Migrant Education Program

The Migrant Education Program

provides help with education and other needs for children aged 3-21 who move frequently because they or their parents (or guardians) work in agriculture, fishing or forestry in Wasco, Sherman and Gilliam counties.

Contact Information

Email: migranteducation@cgesd.k12.or.us

Phone: (541) 296-8271

Fax: (541) 298-2894

The program offers

  • Academic Support

  • Summer School

  • Preschool

  • Parent Meetings

  • 24-hour accident insurance for all eligible children

  • Referrals to social services and community resources

Who Qualifies?

Children and young people ages 3 to 21 years old:

  • who have not yet graduated from high school;

  • who moved with their families across school district boundaries within the last 3 years;

  • who moved so they or their parents could look for work in agriculture, fishing or forestry;

  • and whose families depend on agricultural work to survive.

El Programa de Educación Migrante

proporciona ayuda para la educación y otras necesidades de los niños entre los 3 y 21 años, que se mudan con frecuencia, debido a que ellos, sus padres (o tutores) trabajan en agricultura, pesca o actividades forestales en los condados Wasco, Sherman y Gilliam.

Información del Contacto

Email: migranteducation@cgesd.k12.or.us

Teléfono: (541) 296-8271

Fax: (541) 298-2894

El Programa Ofrece

  • Ayuda académica

  • Escuela de verano

  • Escuela Preescolar

  • Reuniones para padres

  • Seguro contra accidentes las 24 horas para todos los niños elegibles

  • Referencias a servicios sociales y recursos de la comunidad

¿Quién Califica?

Los niños y los jóvenes entre los 3 y los 21 años de edad:

  • que aun no se hayan graduado de la escuela secundaria (high school);

  • que se hayan mudado con sus familias de un distrito escolar a otro durante los últimos 3 años;

  • que se han mudado para que ellos o sus padres pudieran buscar trabajo en agricultura, pesca o actividades forestales;

  • y aquellas familias que dependen de la agricultura para subsistir.

Migrant Education Program Staff / Personal del Programa de Educación Migrante

Armida Quiroz

Armida Quiroz

Columbia Gorge ESD

Migrant Recruiter

aquiroz@cgesd.k12.or.us

Macrina Piza

Macry Piza

Columbia Gorge ESD

Preschool Specialist

mpiza@cgesd.k12.or.us

Maria Alvarado

Chenowith Elementary

Bilingual Home-School Liaison

malvarado@cgesd.k12.or.us

Alfonso Sanchez

Columbia Gorge ESD

Parent Engagement Specialist

asanchez@cgesd.k12.or.us

Angelica Perez

Angélica Pérez

The Dalles Middle School

Bilingual Home-School Liaison

aperez@cgesd.k12.or.us

Lourdes Torres

Columbia Gorge ESD

Migrant Recruiter

ltorres@cgesd.k12.or.us

Robert Salazar

The Dalles High School

Graduation Specialist

rsalazar@cgesd.k12.or.us

Elda Dorado

Colonel Wright Elementary and Dry Hollow Elementary

Bilingual Home-School Liaison

edorado@cgesd.k12.or.us